"My life may not be something special but it's never been lived before"
Stress, School, and Thanksgiving
2006-11-20 @ 11:05 p.m.

Aaaahhhh. I'm so stressed. And it's all self-imposed too. Sigh. Ok. First, back to friday night.
French club had this dinner thing. I was told it started at 7 and kristen was told it started at 5 so after many phone calls and a very fast shower, we got there at around 6:45 and a bunch of stuff was already done....Oh well. We weren't the last people there. It was so nice. We had quiche and gratin and good cheese and bread and artichoke dip (which isn't really french but is delicious) and wine. I think that the french majors here are all pretty much awesome.
So we finished up and Kristen and Allan and I walked down to sixty main to check out jamnesty. Kristen left after about thirty seconds to go hang out with nicole and caitlin but I was determined to open myself up and reach out to new people. So I stayed and made new friends. I only saw two acts. One was a guy with a guitar and this girl julie who was in my french lit class semester playing the violin. I learned that she's actually going to be going to france with me next semester so that's awesome. She was also in the second group. They did jazz. She played keyboard. Apparently she's a music major.
So after a while, I left there too. This girl Jessy from french club was having some people over to her house and Kiersten was going. I wandered around by myself because, despite being given accurate directions several times, I just couldn't figure out which house was her. I pretty much found it by having kiersten go out on the porch and yell until I could hear her and follow her voice. yeah....So that part of the night pretty much consisted of people sitting in a cloud of smoke, passing around a bowl. I didn't smoke. I'm not sure why. I guess I just felt weird since I didn't really know anyone except kiersten. Jessy's really cool though. Very orange so I'm not sure I could take her in large doses, but she's really fun and had a lot of good (and useful) information about france.
Then I went home.
Saturday and sunday were spent in the library. I watched La Haine which was the last thing I needed to do for french civ other than the big final project. I also e-mailed my professor about that because she hadn't talked about it in class yet or posted anything online and I wanted to get started. I originally wanted to do it about some modern aspect of france but then I realized that the final is cumulitive and I don't really know too much about early france so I ended up changing my topic to the roman take over of gaule. I've already started on my research and I think I have the general outline of my paper of which I have to finish a rough draft by dec. 1st so I guess I'm doing pretty good with that.
I also need to do my presentation (with emily g.) for linguistics and study my butt off for that final since I didn't really pay attention too much these past few classes. There's a final story for creative writing that I would like to finish early but I might put off because it the one I have the most time to work on and also that I'm most confident in. It's a story based on a painting so even though I don't have an idea yet, it will be pretty easy to fit whatever I write to a painting. It's not any great challenge or anything.
What I'm really starting to freak about it my admissions essay for colleges. I have so much less freedom in my topic as a transfer than I did as a freshman. I pretty much have to talk about what I've been doing since high school and why I want to transfer. I need to make it creative. I don't know what I'll do if I don't get accepted somewhere. I'll probably move back home and get a job. How depressing is that? I could maybe take some intro science classes or something at hvcc but other than that I think I've pretty much surpassed the level of community college. I think that that is probably the thing that is most stressful right now. I don't even know for sure where I'm applying yet. I have three schools that I'm going to try for sure but I want one or two more. It also sucks because I'm applying mostly to schools that don't accept the common app so I have to keep track of all the millions of little different things the schools want. Some require me to apply online. Others prefer a written one. Some need references. Others don't. I think I might need writing samples for one too.....oy. I hate this. I should just start choosing schools based solely on the fact that they accept the common app.
In other news, I'm almost certainly going to uvm the first weekend in december. I really want to see peaches and I'll also be able to see john. My father's going in for surgery on the 29th. I'm choosing to ignore that fact. But at any rate, he won't be able to drive so I'm taking the bus home friday, leaving early saturday morning, staying the night, driving back sunday and either taking the car back to NP or taking the bus back. I'm not sure which will work better.
Oh, and I have mentioned the fact that there are going to be 18 people at my house for thanksigiving? Yeah. Not cool. That also includes 11 people actually sleeping in our house and 5, that's right, 5 dogs. I have to share my room with some of darren's friends from law school. Fuuuuuuuun.
And Caitlin came over today and dyed my hair. It's my natural color again. I hate it. I feel so boring. But apparently it doesn't really matter since no one has noticed yet. Oh well. Whatever. At least now I won't have to worry about keeping up with it in France.