"My life may not be something special but it's never been lived before"
Moving, School, and France
2006-10-31 @ 6:15 p.m.

Well I moved back to Esopus. I'm much happier here. My roommate seems nice and I love the building. People complain about the walk but I don't mind it. I think it's good that I'm moving away from all that other stuff. It was so hard to not get sucked in to all that negativity. I feel relieved to not be there anymore. I'm also really proud of myself because no matter how nasty things got, I never did anything mean or immature in retaliation. I think this is a step on my way to really being myself and following what I want instead of what other people want for me.
I continue to do really well in school. I spent something like seven hours in the library on sunday and a few hours for a few days before that because I had a big test on monday for french. I think I did really well. I'm aiming for above a 95 because that would bring my test grade into the A range and everything else in that class is an A so I'd have that class covered. American Musical Theatre should be an A too. My lowest grade is a 95. There were two little assignments I didn't do but one gets dropped and the other one I talked to the professor about and he let me turn it in late. Linguistics is questionable. I didn't do so great on the midterm but I did extra credit which brought it up five points. I'm pretty sure I'll have full participation points and she said the presentation we have to do is a pretty easy A. So basically my grade is going to depend on my final. It's not cumulative though so that's good at least. It's on the last day of finals so I'll have a lot of time to study. Creative Writing I'd like to get an A in but I'll probably end up with an A- because my first drafts tend to only be B/B+ so that brings down the A I get on final drafts. I'd really like a 4.0 gpa this semester though. It really seems to be within my reach which blows my mind and getting it would pretty much make my life.
I'm going to transfer next fall. I want to go someplace where I can have a major that will lead me into an outdoor education field. The outdoor recreation program at Indiana University seems awesome so I'd really like to go there. There are a few other schools I'm looking at. UNH, Ohio University. Some others too. I'm still doing research. I'm waiting to send out applications though because I want my grades from this semester on my transcript. It will really help me I think. So we'll see what happens with that.
I'm really excited for next semester. I got accepted to study abroad in France. Last night at french club the presidents boyfriend from France who she met when she was studying abroad came and he seemed pretty nice. It got me really pumped up though. I loved that I could understand pretty much everything he said. It's a confidence booster and helps me not be so nervous about going.
My father's going to be having surgery. I'm not sure when, it hasn't been scheduled yet. We think it'll be at the beginning of January though because of how his time off from work goes. I'm not sure how serious it is. I know it's a problem they thought they weren't going to have to operate on but it got worse and now they need to. It has something to do with his stomach. I guess he's been throwing up a lot recently and getting really dehydrated because of that. I'm not totally certain though. Hopefully this surgery will go better than his last one did....
OK. I really need to get started on my homework so I can do stuff tonight. Fuuuuuun.