"My life may not be something special but it's never been lived before"
Cliques, Abroad, and Trips
2006-09-20 @ 2:04 p.m.

So as long as nothing really bad happens, I think things are going ok. What's happening right now to me is the same thing that happened to Sarah last year. People are going places and forgetting to or just not inviting me. No one's really talking to me. I'd be willing to bet money I'm getting complained about. But whatever. It's the evolution of this clique. Exclusion is a necessary component and I'm fine with that. I'm not going to let this be exactly like Sarah though, because I'm really hoping to avoid any kind of bad blood. My greeness, for those who know what I'm talking about, is really going to work in my advantage and help me move on. And maybe things will get back to a point of sometimes hanging out, but I don't think I'm ever going to have the same kind of intense friendship with the girls in my suite that we had last year. I like the way that Tigger put it. I'm a different person in the same place with the same expectations. I'm not who I was last year. Who I was last year fit into this group perfectly. But I've morphed into this new person and that space isn't my size anymore.
Going away is becoming more of a reality. I'm finished with my abroad application except for having all of the recommendations and my language proficiency sheet in, but those are all things for my professors to take care of really. I'm also 95% sure that I'm going to go abroad again in the spring of '08. I'd like to do a NOLS or Outward Bound semester, but those are really competetive and I don't have anything that would really make me stand out. But there are a lot of options through my school and through other SUNYs. There's a cool service learning thing where you go to school and volunteer in another country. That seems interesting. Or maybe even doing a domestic exchange kind of thing. Go to Hawaii or something. I was considering transferring but I don't know if it's worth it because I'm so close to being done with my major. If I transfer that will just cause a lot of problems. So I'll basically just go abroad every other semester. I think I can even spend my last semester abroad and if I graduated in December of '08....Could I go abroad three times? I don't really see why not. I don't think there's a limit as long as I finish all of my gen eds and major requirements. I don't really care about minors. I wanted to do Creative Writing and Linguistics, but if I don't finish them it doesn't matter. Linguistics will be easier I think because I can take those classes in France. I wonder if they have french creative writing or if it would count....probably not. Maybe as an elective or something. I guess I should talk to my advisor about this stuff. But knowing me it's all going to change soon.
This weekend I'm going to Lake George. There's an IOCA conference. That's the Intercollegiate Outing Club Association. It's going to be, like, 250 college students. 18 people from New Paltz are going but I'm not sure who. I don't think I really know anyone. So that's good. It should be fun. We're canoeing out to this island on friday afternoon and on saturday there's going to be hiking and boating and cliff jumping and tons of other stuff. We're getting back on sunday and then I'm leaving for Oklahoma on wednesday afternoon. I'm considering being really organized and writing out a to do list and making a schedule. I think that will probably help time pass a little quicker. These last few weeks have gone so slow because I've been looking forward to my trip. But of course as soon as I get there that's week's going to fly by. I really need to figure what's happening. I'll hopefully get a chance to do that tonight.
OK. Time to make the days go faster.....