"My life may not be something special but it's never been lived before"
Home, Graduation, and Camp
1970-01-01 @ 9:53 a.m.

Home sucks so I'll just skip over that.
This past weekend was Erics graduation from college. A few days before I had gone to the bank to get money out for him from my mothers account and I left her atm card there. Oops. I didn't even realize it until the night before we were supposed to leave 'cause my mom wanted it for the trip. I started freaking out since my mom had her identity stolen once before and I was scared someone had taken her card. My conscience kept me up all night so I was exhausted by the next day when we were supposed to drive to Wesleyan. It turned out the bank had her card and had just forgotten to call. Thanks a lot. But getting the card back was actually a nice way to start the weekend I had been dreading.
So I drove up with my mom. We listened to Joni Mitchell and sang along pretty much the entire way. We checked into the hotel and hung around Erics house for a while. Eventually dinner was had at some nice restaurant. I had asked earlier if I could stay over at his house that weekend but my mom told me I shouldn't since it was going to be his last night with all of his friends. Of course when we were getting ready to go back to the hotel he asked me if I wanted to stay. I did. So parents left and beer was brought out and a party began. I learned how to open a bottle of beer with my teeth. It's actually a very useful skill. No more bottle openers for me! I played catchphrase with some of his friends, though we did it as a drinking game. At one point the word I got was "vampire" and I got really excited and was all like "Buffy kills them!" and my team got it. It was probably the highlight of my life.
They weren't really planning on having a party. It was just supposed to be some friends, but aftering exhausting all the alcohol in the house, including a bottle of Jim Bean some crazy guy no one knew brought, the party moved on. We went to some keg party. It was raining but everyone at that school is rich so there was a huge party tent in the back. Eric and I stuck together the whole night. I really felt like we were actually friends for the first time. We ran into a guy we had gone to high school together and recalled the wonders of Mr. Matheke banging his head against the wall when he did something stupid....
Erics girlfriend was coming in from Boston that night and she came. We picked her up then headed back to the party which was not all that great. Eric had a bunch of weed he needed to get rid of so we went back to his house and smoked. A lot. I smoked out of a bong for the first time which got me really high and on top of being really drunk, it pretty much finished me off. I was falling asleep on the couch and I could hear people making fun of me but I just did not have the energy to retaliate. Or, you know, open my eyes. They weren't being mean though. Just teasing. But Eric got me blankets and I passed out on the broken and uncomfortable futon. It was an amazingly fun night. I really think it brought Eric and I closer. It was so nice to be equals for once....
None of the rest of the weekend was as interesting. Saturday we went to a bbq at a friends aunts house. I was tired and miserable and ended up going to the hotel and falling asleep to a show about sharks on the discovery channel. When I woke up I made some coffee, headed back to Erics and pretty much just sat around until dinner. We ate at some weird chinese restaurant where I ate a lot of things I couldn't pronounce. We got ice cream and went back to the house to watch a documentary Jessie, Erics girlfriend, had made for school. It was really good. They told the story of some women who had four children. Her husband pulled a gun on her but it didn't go off when he tried to shoot her. She somehow got out of there, moved to a shelter in Boston, found her way into community college, then ended up at Tufts. It was a pretty amazing story and Jessie's submitting it to a few film festivals.
Back to the hotel for sleep, then going to the actual graduation the next morning. It was really hot out and I don't do well in heat so I ended up going underneath a tent and did cross stitch the entire time. I had been hoping to see Joss Whedon since he's went to Wesleyan and had apparently gone to graduation the year before, but he wasn't there. At the picnic the school had after the ceremony though, we ended up sitting across from Richard Dreyfuss' daughter (he didn't show) and that lesbian chick from Americas Next Top Model. Yay for semi-famous people!
Preparations were made for another bbq at Erics house. That went on forever but we finally got home. Thank god.
Today I'm supposed to spend packing for alaska though that does not sound appealing. I spent so much money on camping gear since all of my stuff is suitable for summers here which are much warmer than summers there. All in all nearly $700 went towards new stuff. My Mom offered to pay for all of it, but I feel bad so I think we're going to split it half and half though that means $350 less dollars for school next year.
So, packing today, tomorrow I take care of all the boring stuff like getting travelers checks, then nyc that night and alaska by the wednesday with chicago and seattle in between. I probably got the worst flight ever.....Oh well. My address if anyone want to send me any letters which, I'd like to add, are freaking amazing, is
HC 35 Box 5400
Wasilla, AK 99654
I'll be back home August 16th, though I'll probably be pretty much useless until the next day since that's an overnight flight.
I'm finally starting to get really excited......!!!!!!!