"My life may not be something special but it's never been lived before"
Break, Plans, and Classes
2006-03-19 @ 5:26 p.m.

So. It's spring break. I came home thursday afternoon, skipping my friday classes. I was going to try to get a ride home from Eric's friend Kathy but she didn't call me back in time so I just had my father pick me up during his afternoon off. Thursday night I hung out with Cathleen, same for friday. Saturday I went out with my mom, we did some bonding and eileen called me to invite me over. I would have gone but I had already made plans with my family since eric was coming home that night. So he did and we all went out to see Heart of Gold.
Today we all went to the Albany Institute which was incredibly boring, or so everyone but my mother thought, and then grocery shopping as a family. Aww. Tonight Mom, Eric and I are driving down to the city and Eric and I are going to come back up monday night. My plans for the rest of the break include reading a lot of books and writing my french essay. This is probably the most thrilling spring break imaginable.
Right now I'm reading Mountains Beyond Mountains by Tracy Kidder about Paul Farmer and Haiti. I've really become interested in Haitian culture and am considering going there after college to do some type of volunteer work, probably having to do with literacy. My parents are very against that due to the political situation, but changing the world isn't something than can wait for things to be safe. I feel bad that I've fallen so much out of the activist state of mind since I went to college. I used to be so involved in Amnesty and I was so much more aware. I think that a lot of the sentences I have written thus far are fairly awkward but I am too lazy to go up and change them all.
I discussed graduating in three years with my parents and they are very against the idea. They just don't see the point. I think it would be neat to start up life early, but they say I should appreciate this time with so little responsibilty. Plus I'd be fairly young. Graduating from college at 20. If I didn't take a year off I'd have my masters at the same age most people finish their bachelors. I guess since I change my mind so much about what I want to do in school it's probably best to give myself some breathing room.
I think I've figured out what classes I want to take next semester, though I'm not sure if any of them are actually going to work out for me. It depends on how the schedule looks. I'm hoping for: French Civilization (no question about that one), Graphs and Optimization, Human Evolution, Intro to Linguistics, and elementary spanish one. That's only sixteen credits though which seems like a waste of money because I could reasonably take at least one more class, not to mention the fact that that's less credits than I'm taking this semester. Depending on what fits into my schedule I'm hoping to take an english class with Jan Schmidt. I know her through this committee thing and she seems really nice. I'm not sure what classes she's going to be teaching but I know this semester she has a comtemporary literature one that sounds really interesting. I guess I can't really make any of these desicions yet though and it really is stupid of me to try. Still, I do love thinking ahead so I can change my mind about six hundred million times before a final decision has to be made.