"My life may not be something special but it's never been lived before"
NYC, Halloween, and Classes
2005-11-07 @ 11:58 p.m.

So yeah. College. It's still going on. It's been awhile since I've updated so I guess I'll just try to hit the highlights. On the twenty eighth I took the bus down to the city and met up with Emily. It was the first time I ever really traveled on my own and I was a little confused at first, but it really wasn't that big of a deal. We went to her dorm and I met her suitemates. Then we went to dinner at some pub restaurant place and then we took the train to go see the Dresden Dolls. We had a little trouble getting in at first because we didn't actually have tickets, but that's a long story I don't really feel like explaining. We did get in though, and it was amazing.
I don't want to go into too many details about it because I know that my retelling would not nearly equal the amazingness of that night. The opening band was good, which is unusual, but it made me happy. They used conventional instruments to make unconventional music and I love that. This concert was so much better than when Em and Ben and I saw them at Northern Lights. I really want to have their babies.
Anyways, after, we just went back to Em's dorm 'cause we didn't want to take the subway too late and we didn't want to pay for a cab. But we had fun. I got to meet most of the people that she always talks about, and I approve. The next day I was supposed to meet up with my grandfather for lunch, but Em and I slept late, so that didn't end up happening. Instead we went to Chelsea looking for a Can Can outfit for halloween. We went into this one place and the costumes were freaking $125. That was not going to happen. So I decided to just get a corset and skirt separatley. We ended up going into a sex shop called "Red Light District" for the corset and Old Navy for the skirt. But it worked out ok.
Then Port Authority, New Paltz, preparations, and then partying with Mary, Mal, Alex, Kristen, Sarah, Lauren, Chelsie, Chelsea, Brandon, Steve, Robbo, and these two guys I don't know. It was quite the group. I didn't like the first party, it was too crowded. The second one was better. I spend a lot of time with Kristen and Robbo. We walked back to Robbo's room together and hung out for a bit, then Kristen fell asleep so I woke her up and we went home.
Nothing on sunday. Monday was halloween though. I had a class at 5 which most people were skipping, but I went 'cause I had nothing to skip it for. I was planning on going back to the dorm after and figuring out something to do with Mary and Mal, but I ended up walking into town with Kristen, Sarah, Caitlin, and Nicole for the halloween parade and to look at jack o lanterns. They had already gone trick or treating and Kristen shared her candy with me. From there I think we went back to Caitlin and Nicole's suite, then to Robbo's room. There, we drank. Mucho fun. Throughout the night we had been losing people and at that point it was only Me, Robbo, and one of his friends. We decided to go to Cabaloosa's, which is this club in town.
We went and danced and had one of the best halloween's not involving Ben ever.
This past weekend I didn't do much. On sunday my parents picked me up and we went into the city to see Toni Morrison speak. That was fun and interesting and she signed one of my books. I've also been trying to figure out my schedule. If I get the one I want, I'll not only have no morning classes, but no friday classes as well. Again, I didn't really try for that, but this time I kept it in mind. I didn't not take a class because of that though. I just picked a certain section for one of my classes. So anyway, hopefully I'll have
Intro to Acting MW 12:30
Contemporary Black Literature TH 2:00
Comp 2 MW 3:30 (which I'm already preregistered for)
Storytelling and Culture TH 3:30
Physical Geography MW 5:00
Self Community and Citizenship W 6:30 (again, I'm preregistered)
I hope I'll be able to get all the classes I want, but they're pretty popular I guess, so I'm not sure. Plus I'm a freshmen and registration goes by credits. At least I have more than some so I'm registering on thursday rather than friday, but there's still 3/4 of the school going before me.
Not too much exciting going on in the future. 26 days until my birthday. I already know that my parents are getting me a digital camera and tickets to see Sweeney Todd because those are the only things I asked for and they pretty much already told me I'm getting it. My mom kept on trying to get me to wait on the tickets though because it's Darren's favorite musical and she knows that he'll want to see it on Broadway, but he's not coming home until August and I'm not even sure if it'll still be there. So she said she would try and get it them for as soon as possible.
Ok. I think that's probably enough for now. I have to shower, eat, do homework for my classes this afternoon, and then actually go to them. Oh well.