"My life may not be something special but it's never been lived before"
Recap, Risk, and Jews
2005-10-04 @ 6:48 a.m.

So this weekend was pretty good. Friday was the best night, but none of the other ones were too bad. So let's start from friday.
Almost everyone went home. Danielle and I were the only girls sharing our bathroom. Connor and Rob were both here too, and Shawna from Pond Level, and Caitlin from Crispell. We sat around in Connor and Robs room for awhile, then decided to steal the couch from the first floor study lounge for our room which is the only one without a couch. But not anymore. No one noticed this weekend, but they might now that everyone's back.
There was also a lot of noise making in the halls. We played frisbee and skateboarded. I got hit in the head though. Ouch. And Danielle attempted to cut my hair, but didn't really end up doing anything. Everyone else played pictionary.
We walked around town for a bit after that, looking for a party because everyone wanted to get drunk, but there were none to be found. Instead, we went to this coffee shop on Main Street and Caitlin and I got drinks. Connor just drank Caitlin's extra espresso. It was cool though. Everyone in there looked like they were homeless, my kind of people. This one guy with dreads was playing guitar and these really drunk people were dancing recklessly while other people just laid on benches and slept.
We went over to listen to the guy playing and he was doing, like, tv themes and stuff. We all sang along and Caitlin and I got up and danced when he did Hey Ya buy Outkast. Eventually all the incredibly intoxicated people left and we were just talking to the guy who was playing. His name is Peter. Apparently he's big into Astrology so he told us how to figure out a bunch of stuff about our signs and said if we come back this friday he'll read our charts for us. It was pretty cool.
We walked back to Esopus and tried to find something to do, but everyone was getting pretty tired. I wasn't though, due to the extreme amounts of caffeine I had consumed so I offered to walk Caitlin back to her dorm, which is close to Emma's dorm and Emma had friends from home there who I wanted to meet, so I called her up. I went up there and met people and had fun and then ran back to Esopus with some kid who lives in Lenape.
Saturday morning my parents came and picked me up and we went down to NYC to drop my mom off at JFK. She checked in and we ate an extremely over priced meal in the airport food court which was actually really gross. Imagine that. But we saw her off while avoiding any major catastrophes and my father and I headed back to Albany.
So, we're driving along, doing fine, and my father pulled over and told me to drive since his back was really bothering him. So we switch and I'm going along all la de da, and this cop steps out into the road in front of the guy in front of me and pulls us both over. It sucked. I got a ticket and now I have to go to court, though I'm not sure when yet. I'm fairly happy about the circumstances though because my father was in the car and had actually been telling me that I could go faster than I was if I wanted, so he couldn't really yell at me for getting pulled over. My mother will be a different story, but we haven't told her yet.
Anyway, I got home and it turned out that that night was Homecoming so no one would be around. I was pissed off because I had told John about me coming back and he never mentioned anything. Instead, I went out to dinner with my father and then we went to see Serenity. That is officially the best movie ever. I absolutley loved it. The theatre was pretty full too, which made me happy. The movie didn't make a lot of money, but part of that is because it only opened to a limited number of theatres. Hopefully it'll open up wider because it's had so many good reviews and it'll make more and they'll do a sequel. That would make me and the entire Joss Whedon fandom so extremely happy you wouldn't be able to understand unless you were enlighted to the genius that is Joss. After the movie I went home and slept.
Sunday morning I went out to breakfast with my father then picked up Emily and Lauren and we went to the mall. I love those guys soooooo much. We shopped and tryed on prom dresses and ate pretzels and chocolate and spent too much money on underwear and had mucho fun. They (along with all my other friends) are the only part of home I miss. And the library. But I feel like they go hand in hand.
We didn't have a lot of time to spend together because Lauren had to babysit and Emily had a train to catch. But I dropped them off and went to the library. Hamida and Ben were there which was fun. Chrissie and Lee were working. I love those two. I used to only really like Jen, but ever since she got married, she's been less fun, and even more so since Lucas was born. The other two are still cool. though. I cut out little penguins for storytime, just for old times sake.
I also really wanted to see Christopher because I hadn't and I love him because he is so amazingly cool. I wasn't really sure if he was home, but I was right around there, so I just drove by and he was there. I only meant to stay for a few minutes, but we got talking and I ended up staying much longer. It was nice though. When he started going out with Elyse, it was like he forgot about the rest of us. It was nice to have him on his own, acting normal again. He also said he's going to apply to New Paltz so hopefully he'll come visit at some point.
After, I went home and got a bunch of crap together to bring to NP with me. Oh, I forgot that I had bought Umbrellas Of Cherbourg and some more cross stitch stuff. So anyway, I packed it all up, along with a bottle of champagne everyone else had forgotten about and no one will miss. But we drove back without incident and ate at the Thai restaurant. I had duck. It was salty, but otherwise delicious. After, we went to Shop Rite and I picked up a few things. We went back to my dorm and my father left.
No one was really around, so I just sat in my room with the door open and watched Lost. Connor, Rob, Caitlin, and her boyfriend from home, Andy, came back soon enough though and we went outside and played capture the flag with a bunch of other people. It was sort of stupid because I was guarding this one bridge, but no one even tried to cross it. But I met some pretty cool people and ended up going with a group of them to this guy Scott's room. We played Life and then went to bed.
Monday I slept late, wrote in my journal, read, went to dinner with Connor and Rob, got mad at Connor, and stayed in my room for the rest of the night watching Lost and crocheting.
This morning I woke up early to go to Rosh Hashonah services, but decided I didn't want to go, so I went to sleep. I ended up not being able to fall asleep though so I showered and got dressed and walked to the SUB. There was almost no one there when I got there, but a bunch of people came later. There weren't really any students though, it was all just people from the New Paltz synagogue. Services were nice. I really like the Rabbi. Things were a little different from home, but not too much so. The only thing I didn't like though was that no one really talked to me or made any effort to be friendly.
I left right after services and went to lunch where I met up with Connor, Rob, and Caitlin. We ended up going to Cailtins suite for a bit, but then walked back to Esopus. Everyone wanted to play Risk, but we couldn't find anyone who had it.
We ended up in Scott's room instead and Rob left while I watched the game and knitted. After a while though, we decided to go to Eckerd and see if they had any board games and also to fill some prescription of Connor's. First we went to Subway though and ate the deliciousness they serve there. While they were making my sub though, they kept talking about how they wanted to just take off their hats and shirts and quit midsandwich. Lovely.
Eckerd didn't have anything so we went to Rite Aid, who also didn't have anything, but Connor gave them his thing and they told him to come back in an hour, so we had some time to kill. I needed fish food and the store is just across the road so we went over there. We also went to this gaming store and I bought a used dvd of The Laramie Project. Not quite sure why they had it there, but whatever.
We still had extra time before we had to go back, so we sat on a hill and talked. When we finally decided to go back to Rite Aid, it turned out that the pharmacist had left already and it would have to wait until tomorrow. It was lovely that they told us that before we sat around wasting a bunch of time.
So we walked back and I mentioned something about Charlotte and Caitlin wanted to meet her, so I called her up to see what she was doing, but while I was talking to her, I ran across the Crazy Jews. They stopped and us asked if any of us were Jewish and everyone was like "she is" and pointed to me. So I ended up basically hanging up on Charlotte and saying a prayer and the guy blew the Shofar that he randomly had in his pocket. They invited me for apples and honey at the Jewish Student Center tonight, but I'm not sure if I want to go. Maybe.
So I called Charlotte back and she had to go to rehearsal, but we met outside of Has briefly and she and Caitlin met each other. Heart warming, I know. So I just went up and watched Rob and Caitlin eat since I had already had a sub. Then I walked back here and wrote this. The end.