"My life may not be something special but it's never been lived before"
Layout, Update, and Home
2005-09-27 @ 6:49 a.m.

I changed my layout. I like this one even though it looks like crap on most computers. It looks good on mine. Plus, I designed it myself. I tried to get Connor, one of the guys in my hall, to help me make it look good on all browsers, but he told me I pretty much have to rewrite the whole thing and I don't want to do it, so all of you people who aren't using Safari, deal with the ugliness.
OK. So the past few days. Friday I had a bad experience I would like to forget, and then I went to french. We had a test. It was ok, pretty much what I expected. After that I walked to town, but the part that's further away. I went to Eckerd and got hair dye and some other random stuff. I bought the first season of Lost on DVD. I love that show. Maybe I should get a Lost layout, if I'm not too lazy. Anyway, I ate lunch and walked back. Charlotte's father was visiting her and they drove by me and picked me up. We went back to her room and I hung out for awhile until Sarah came back to Esopus from lunch, then I went back and she dyed my hair. It looks good. I'm happy with it. It's a dark red, clearly unnatural, but not totally out there.
So me and my lovely new hair sat around in my room for quite awhile watching Lost. The other girls in my dorm were going out with these guys but I don't really like them so I didn't go. Instead I went over to Charlottes once she got out of rehearsal.
We walked to Convenient Deli and I got Ben and Jerry's. That stuff is heavenly. When we got back some guy Andy invited us over to his suite. It was fun, he and his suitemates (the ones who were there at least) were pretty cool. I drank a little bit. He had mix drinks which were nice. At least the white russian. I also had something with Southern Comfort which was weird. Um, next we went to some other suite and I played DDR which is very difficult to do while drunk. After that I believe I had some Coconut Rum, then back down to the other suite until I began to embarrass myself and went up to the other suite again to embarrass myself until finally Charlotte took my back to her suite.
We watched some of Spaceballs but were both really tired so we got ready for bed. Her other suitemates though were at some party and they came back then. Charlotte was in bed and I was sleeping in an extra bed in their common room but Emma, who is very seriously my cosmic sister, was feeling sick so I stayed up for a bit with her until she went to sleep.
Saturday I went back to Esopus, took a shower, and locked myself out of my room. Luckily I had clothes with me so I just hung out in Mary and Mallory's room for a few hours until Danielle got back from work. We watched Moulin Rouge. I really like that movie. Except the end. It makes me cry. Lots. After, we went to dinner which was some crappy bbq with very few choices, but the dining hall was closed so it's all we had. Everyone was really upset though because we all wanted ice cream.
So, we see the guy who runs the dining hall and Sarah goes up to him and asks if he'll let us in. It took some convincing but eventually he opened up the dining hall just for us so we could get ice cream. It was amazing. Especially since they had pumpkin which is amazingly delicious. We walked home. Everyone got ready and went out to a party with the same guys who I don't like so I didn't go. I just spent all night sitting in my room watching Lost and crocheting. Though I did start reading On the Road. I'm not sure what I think of it yet but I feel like it's one of those books that everyone should read.
Sunday I continued with my not doing anything. At one point I walked into town with Mary and Mallory, but I mostly just sat around. Next weekend I'm going home. Well, my parents are going to pick me up Saturday morning and we're going to NYC 'cause my mom is going to fly out to China for three weeks to visit Darren, so I'm seeing her off. Then I'm going home and hopefully seeing Serenity that night. I have monday and tuesday off of school because of Rosh Hashanah. I'm not sure if I want to stay home though. I think it'd be weird to go to the Nassau Synagogue without my mother but I do want to go. If I come back to school there's going to be services so I might do that, come home sunday and do services in New Paltz. I guess they're reconstructionist though, which will be weird considering I grew up with mostly Conservative views. Maybe I'll like it more though. I'll see.
I sort of want to go see Mr. Porter, but I don't want to hang around here in order to do that. Maybe I'll go see him around Thanksgiving. I want to e-mail him too. I miss him so much. The other day I e-mailed Michael from NYSTI and told her about college. It was probably the longest e-mail I've ever written and she hasn't responded yet, but she's really busy, so hopefully she will soon.
At school we're having this fundraiser thing where you can miss a meal and have that money deducted from your meal plan and donated to Hurricane Katrina relief work. My floor all decided that we would all do it and miss the same meal and order in Chinese instead. I'm excited. I like chinese food. Yum yum.