"My life may not be something special but it's never been lived before"
College, Friends, and Classes
2005-09-13 @ 6:20 a.m.

Alright. I'm thinking massive update. I am in college now. Everything is very different. I make simple sentences. Anyway. My roommates name is Danielle. She's from Long Island and talks really fast. I think she might be a little insane, but that's ok because we get along really well. We're not really friends with each other that much, but that's ok with me. I actually don't really like her friends, but I'm willing to put up with them when they come over, or I'll just go next door.
The girls next door are really cool. There's Mary and Mallory. Mallory's really funny, and sort of random. But she's also very normal. Not that that's a bad thing, I really like her, but she's not as insane as my friends normally are. Mary is really quiet at first, but once you get to know her she's sooooo funny. We hang out a lot. Mostly if I'm not in class or doing homework, I'm in her room just hanging out. She's probably my closest friend here so far, but I'm not sure if it's going to stay like that because her and Mallory are pretty close. I don't know. We'll see. It's weird because neither of them are like any of my friends from home which I guess is sort of what I've been looking for, but I have nothing on that front yet.
So the next room over is the bathroom, and then there's Alex and Kristen's room. Alex is really nice. She's more who I would have expected to be good friends with, but I'm not really. I mean, we hang out in the same circle and everything, but we never spend time together just the two of us. I think part of that is because I have this image of who she should be in terms of what music she listens to and what kind of stuff she's into, but she doesn't really fit into that mold. I do like her though. Her roommate Kristen is so sweet. Plus she's obsessed with Buffy too and she's into Lord of the Rings and all my other guilty pleasures too, so that's really cool. Next to them are Sarah and Stephanie. I never really talk to Stephanie, but Sarah's really cool. She's into a lot of things that I'm not, but that's ok. I have fun when I hang out with her and I admire her drive. She graduated a year early from high school and has managed to keep up with her work despite her liking for partying.
Across the hall from them there's Jared and Eric. They're ok. I'm not too close to either of them, but they're fun to hang out with on occasion. And Rob and Connor next to them who I rarely ever talk to.
I don't really have too many friends outside of the hall. I know some older people that go here, and there's one girl I used to do NYSTI with but who I don't like. There's one girl, Charlotte, who I met briefly at orientation and then we talked some through facebook before we got here. She's also in my french class. Through her I know some other people. Her roommate Carley and their suitemates. I like them all, though I don't know one of her suitemates all that well. The other one, Emma, is really funny and she left a message on my facebook wall so I love her even more for that.
Charlotte though, she's special. I really like her. As in, the crush I have on her is at the highest level it is possible for my crushes to go. I've met some astoundingly stupid people here, but she's not like that. She knows so much about everything. Not to mention of course that she's hilarious and nice and very talented (she's a theatre arts major), and possibly one of the most gorgeous people on the face of the earth. Of course there's the one little draw back of her having a boyfriend. Though at least she's bi, so, yay, one point for me. But other than the boyfriend, there are many reasons I am sure it's never going to happen. But hey, since when has that ever stopped me?
OK. Classes. I'm taking Freshman Comp which is stupid and I basically already took last year. The only problem was I needed a four on the AP test to get out of it and I only had a three, though I am thoroughly convinced I was on the border for that one. I'm going to show my professor some of the papers I wrote so hopefully she'll at least see that I know how to write a freaking research paper.
Social Issues is the most bullshit class ever with way more work than it's worth and I wish I could drop it but I can't.
Swahili is sort of boring. I don't have too much work for it which is good but I also don't think I'm going to come out of that class knowing too much Swahili.
Intro to Black Studies is really interesting. There's about 40 people in it, but the Professor still makes it more discussion based. I always participate. I think that's probably my favorite class because it's what I expected. A lot of reading, but manageable, and then class the next day is based on the previous nights reading with the professor giving us random notes throughout.
French is really hard. My professor is reallly nice and I've talked to her about my concerns and she says they're all normal and I shouldn't worry. So that's good, but it's still a lot of work and it takes me a very long time to finish it. I normally have to spend more than one sitting on it because I get so frustrated when I do it. Even so, it's really rewarding. I know that if I work hard and take some more classes that I'll definatley be able to go to France and not completely embarrass myself. Which is good.
I don't really miss home all that much. I miss my puppies and my friends, and sometimes I wish I could just go home and hang out there, but that's not too often. I do miss the anchorage of the library though. That was the one place where I could always go if I didn't want to be home or I wanted to see people I knew. I don't have anyplace like that here.
Oh, and everyone here is from Long Island. It's weird. Very weird. I'm not sure how much I like that. Especially since I'm one of the few who's not and have no idea where the hell Islip or Massapequa or Great Neck or Bethpage or any of those other places are.
I definately different here.