"My life may not be something special but it's never been lived before"
Recaps, Prom, and Graduation
2005-06-27 @ 12:49 p.m.

OK, again with the long lapse in updates. I guess I'll just hit the highlights.
Prom was ok. I'm not a big dance person, but I had fun. I'm still amazed that Lauren seems to be able to dance and not look like a complete fool, unlike the rest of us. I'm glad I went with John. It wasn't weird or awkward at all. He was a friend who had to be particularly nice to me that nice, and he was.
After, we met up with Chris and Meagan and went bowling in our prom stuff. It would have been cooler if no other prom people were there, but there were a few. They did cool lighting stuff though, and played lots of good (and some not so good ) music. But we danced and bowled and it was good.
Back at Em's we, unlike the vast majority of our peers, did not get drunk. Instead, we played Cranium and watched Hedwig. By the time that was over, it was almost five. Everyone was asleep except for me, John and Lauren, so we decided to go for a walk. Chris woke up and came with us. We hung around outside, went to Dunkin Donuts, and then hung around in em's living room. Finally, around 6, I cracked and went to bed. They soon followed.
That day, Emily, Eileen, Cathleen, and I went to Lake George. Absolutley nothing interesting happened. We are just that cool. We stayed till Monday.
Wednesday was our last day of school. It was weird, because nothing was really different. I had tests in a couple of classes still. I skipped economics though and went to the courtyard with Em, Eileen, and Kendra. After school, a bunch of us went to Friendly's and got ice cream. Since I didn't have to take any more finals or regents though, I was basically done.
This past week I have really done nothing. I've just been hanging around, reading, doing cross stitch, watching TV. I'm really ok with this as long as I get to see friends and stuff. It's when that's all I do that I freak. I am just very uninteresting.
Last friday though, we had graduation rehearsal, and then I went over to NYSTI for the Staff Orientation for Summerstage. I'm excited for that to start. I'll be assisting an acting class and circus arts in the morning (I have no idea what that's about) and then contemporary dance and "Animated Idol" in the afternoon. Oh yeah. But with the AI thing, Kerry and Shawn will be the actual teachers. Kerry's nice. She used to go to Theatre Arts School with me, but then she got pregnant and stopped. Shawn's crazy and I love him so that's very very very cool.
That night we had a mystery dinner party at Meagans. I was Bobby Sox, the younger half sister of the guy who had been killed. Lauren did it. Ha ha. We went swimming at meagan's too, which was fun except for that Em felt sick and left early.
Um, saturday was graduation. It was a really bad day. I felt stupid and awful. The actual ceremony was long and mostly boring. They left seats empty for Chris and Alyssa, but not where their names would have been. I thought that was stupid. But it was nice that they did something. I guess on their chairs they had a graduation cap and flowers.
After, my aunt, grandfather, cousin, parents, and I went to Provence for dinner. Then we went home. I didn't go to any parties. Sunday we went for breakfast, came home, hung around for awhile, and then my mother and I packed some lunch and drove to Cherry Plains State Park and went swimming. It was really nice. It's very pretty up there, and it was really hot, and since we don't have a pool...
I think it's official that I'm never going to live up to where my brothers are. I'm going to be the poor, failed family member. Darren took the LSATs and got 178 out of 180, which is 99.9 percentile. With that, the Peace Corps, and the 3.9 average he had at GW, he'll have his pick of law schools, including Yale which is his top choice. And then when Eric becomes a doctor and I end up as a librarian making 20 grand a year and they're raking in 5 times as much as that...Oh man. I hope I do well in college. My cousin went from SUNY Cortland to Cornell Law, so it's not impossible for me to end up in a good school later. I just have way to much prejudiced against state schools. I'm elitist. But now that I'm going to one, I'll hopefully realize that I'm wrong and state schools are just as good as private. I hope.