"My life may not be something special but it's never been lived before"
College, Applications, and Dad
2004-04-14 @ 7:59 p.m.

I visited UMass-Amherst and Mount Holyoke today. UMass was huge and pretty much the stereotypical image of college life. Mount Holyoke on the other hand, was small and lovely.

It's the first of the seven sisters school, the first and longest running women's college. It's got all these awesome traditions like milk and cookies in every dorm, five nights a week so everyone can just chill out and talk. Also, every winter, they flood the field in front of the student center and turn it into an ice skating rink. That's freaking awesome.

The bestest part about the whole school is that it's pretty much in my range. All my grades in school are picking up and I'll have a story to tell about getting diagnosed with ADD and starting the drugs and all that. Plus I've got that alumni connection through Mrs. Way. Oooo, Emily Dickinson went to MHC. I think I'm going to apply early admissions. I'm still going to check out other schools to see if I love any of them more or in case I don't get accepted. But hopefully I will. I picked up the application. I'm going to start working on the common app. essay so I can have that ready and then I'll only have to do the supplements next year because I'm not sure if they change or not.

Oh, and the library is the most gorgeous place ever. The main reference room in designed to look like westminster and the rest of it is classic seventeenth century venetian architecture. Plus about a million other things that I don't want to bore you with.

I went out to lunch with my mother today at this soup and sandwich place called Judies. I got matzo ball soup which sucked and this really good humus/veggie sandwhich. Then we got dessert and my mother was all like "i can't get anything, I'm on a diet" and I was all like, give me the chocolatiest thing you've got. So I got the mini chocolate cake thing that had melted chocolate all over the top and it was all warm and gooey and perfect and I think it's kind of funny that I just wrote a paragraph aiming at telling all about this fabulous dessert.

Anyway, my father's a stupid cripple who can't lift up his leg enough to get over a root and so he falls down when attempting to, gasp, walk to the car by himself. He's getting a brace soon. It's going to be such a pain. I don't like him anymore. I'm so glad my mother lives with us again because if she didn't, I'd have killed someone by now.