"My life may not be something special but it's never been lived before"
Father, Stroke, and School
2004-02-28 @ 10:11 p.m.

Well this week just keeps getting better and better. My mother got her hip pinned instead of replaced which they thought they might have had to do, but they didn't, so that's good. But yesterday my father was doing really bad, couldn't walk, his speech was slurring, and he had trouble keeping one of his eyes open. Then this morning he sat up in bed and just fell and hit his head. It wasn't too bad, but he thought he should be checked out. So we brought him to the er.

We got him all checked in and everything and then went up to our moms room. We is Eric and I by the way. So we stayed up there, checked on my father every so often, he was feeling ok then so he was low priority. I had to go to acting though so Eric took me, picked me up at five, we went home, took care of the dogs, and then went back to the hospital.

At that point, my father had been admitted and convinced the nurses to let him and my mother have a room together, which they all thought was very sweet so they let it happen even though it's against hospital policy to have different sexes in the same room.

My father was doing really bad again, couldn't even take one step with the walker and my brothers help to go to the bathroom. When we left his speech was starting to slur again. A few hours later eric called my parents room again. My father had talked to the neurologist and he's pretty sure my father had a stroke. So this is just freaking lovely.

Oh, and apparently being under lots of stress makes me break out in to fairly bad hives all over my body so that's happened, like, twice in these past few days. Yuck. I'm hoping I'll be able to go to school every day this week but I'm not sure if I'll be able to stay after for anything except that one day of work. sigh.