"My life may not be something special but it's never been lived before"
Ice, Mom, and Hospitals
2004-02-26 @ 11:15 p.m.

Well, my life officially sucks. My mother picked me up from the library today and we went and got chinese food so I was all in a good mood. So we got home and my mom told me to bring my stuff and the food is and she'd help my dad 'cause he had surgery and has trouble walking and all. So I go in to the house and I start clearing off the table and I hear the horn beep, so I go outside, figuring that they want me to bring the mail in or something, and I see my father sitting in the car with the door open and my mom lying half underneath the car in the back and my father starts yelling at me to help my mother.

I go over and she had slipped on the ice and fallen. I didn't think too much of it at first, I just figured she got a little bruised up and so I helped my father inside and came back out to make sure she was ok. What was weird was that she hadn't moved at all and couldn't even begin to try and get up. She could move her arms, but not her legs. I was afraid she had fallen on her spine and was paralyzed or something but no, she said, it was just her hip. she bruised it.

But she still couldn't get up. I told her to stay there and I'd get some blankets and call 911. She told me no, she just wanted to go inside and have dinner, but since she couldn't get up or walk, she made me get my fathers walker. So I helped her up after much effort and she walked slowly and painfully inside, including up our front stairs. It was awful. She said we'd just go to urgent visit after dinner but my father was flipping out about how she wouldn't be able to go down the stairs and she should just call the ambulance and go to the hospital.

We sat down and started dinner, but after about five minutes she said she needed to go see someone. So I drove both my parents to urgent visit since I'm currently the only one who can drive and they took x-rays. She has a bad break in her hip. So they took her to the hospital. She's having surgery some time tomorrow. I'm missing school because someone has to be home with my father and I have to take him to the hospital and everything.

I'm becoming way too familiar with the way to St. Peters. It's so stressful though. I'm now the only one here who can walk without great amounts of pain. I have to take care of my two freaking parents. It sucked with just my dad, but now not only is mom not here to help me, I have to take care of her too.

Eric's coming up tomorrow afternoon after his class and leaving monday 'cause he's got class on tuesday too. I think Darren might come up the next weekend and my grandfather might come up during the actual week, but it'll be a long time for both of their recoveries and they'll both have to be in very intensive physical therapy. I'll probably have to stop doing stuff after school so I can come home and take care of them.

Also, I think my mother is blaming herself. She keeps saying how stupid she is for falling and then for walking on a hip that she even thought might be broken. My father has apparently started taking anti depressants but only recently so he keeps yelling at me and then apologizing later. Tomorrow I think I'm going to go out and break up every chunk of ice on our driveway and salt and sand everything. It's just too bad I didn't do that before....