"My life may not be something special but it's never been lived before"
Moments, Shootings, and Excuses
2004-02-09 @ 6:27 p.m.

there are some moments in ones life that they will never forget. Crouching in the back of room under a table with a desk in front of you wondering what will happen if the person holding the gun decides to come in your classroom and, what it feels like to be shot is most certainly one of those moments.

Yeah, so for those of you who don't know, I was sitting in modern lit when we heard a sound and then "he's got a gun, he's got a gun" and then another shot. Mrs. Way yelled at us to cover ourselves with desks and go to the back of the room. Then we heard another shot. We could smell the gun powder. We ended up staying there for, like, and hour and half before the room was declared a crime scene since it happened right outside and one of the shells from a bullet had come in to our room.

When we were evacuated to the gym I saw Jess D. and told her it was Jon that had done it and she started yelling no and cryed. She kept on saying stuff like she should have known and she tried to help him as best she could and why didn't she tell anyone and stuff like that. It was really disturbing. It made me hate marilyn manson.

In Bowling for Columbine, Michael Moore interviews Marilyn about what happened at Columbine and asked him, if he could say anything to those two kids, what would he have said. He said that he wouldn't tell them anything. That what they really needed was someone to listen. Well fuck that. Some people just aren't willing to talk. There are people like Jessica who want to help, but then theres people like Jon, who just don't want to, or maybe can't share.

Oddly enough, I'm not really mad at him, Jon that is. People in my modern lit class kept saying "what kind of sick fuck would do this?" and for some reason, I found myself defending him, without even knowing who had done it yet. I just couldn't believe someone could do that if they were in their right mind, and is it really his fault if he's got problems and chemical imbalances and all in his brain? I don't know. I think I could forgive him, even if he had done more that just wound some one. I just can't believe that Jon did that. Not the Jon that I knew. Not the real Jon.