"My life may not be something special but it's never been lived before"
Family, Movie, and Driving
2003-11-28 @ 10:50 p.m.

There are some days, like Thanksgiving, when I really hate my family. This was definatley my worst one. I got in several fights with my father and except for the meal and clean-up, I spent the entire night locked in my room.

There are other days, like today, when I really love my family. We went out to dinner at a very expensive restaurant for my grandfathers eightieth birthday. And when I say expensive, I mean expensive. As in, tip alone was $114. The meal itself was over $1000. But my mother and aunt splurged since eighty is a pretty significant age.

Anyway, you'd think at a nice, expensive restaurant, you'd have a nice meal, atmosphere and all. Unfourtunately not. When we got in there, the door was open and the draft was coming right at our table, so we asked the waitress to close it. So she did. And then the people sitting behind it (they didn't get any of the draft) slyly reached behind them and pushed it open. So we asked the waitress to close it again, and she did. So one of the guys got up and opened it again. By this time, my cousin Hilary was freezing since she's tiny girl and was sitting right where the draft was, so she ended up having to change seats with Eric.

So now the door's open again, we're all sitting there freezing, so we ask a different waitress, since ours wasn't there at the moment, to close it. She does, and yet again, the other people open it. So we asked her to speak to them since we were all really cold and since she wasn't the one getting our tip, she decided to compromise by leaving the door half open. We were still freezing, so when our waitress was back, my mother made some comment to me about how she was cold and so our waitress went over and closed the door. When the guy got up again to open it, my cousin Joel went over there and said "I'm sorry, but the draft is coming right at us and we're all really cold and my sister has already had to move." The guys response? "I don't give a shit". So my cousin closed the door the guy had just opened and walked away.

After about 15 minutes, they all got up and left, but not until they went over and talked to the only other table in the room, telling them what awful people we all were. So the rest of the meal went fine. When we were all getting up to leave, a totally different waitress opened the door. Of course we didn't care since we were leaving and the other people there weren't in the draft. But one of the women who was probably about 45, and had the body of a fourty five year old, but wore the clothes and make up of a twenty year old looks at us and goes "ooo, they opened the door" all sarcastic and mocking. I gave her such a dirty look. I mean, I don't even know anyone in our school who would do something like that. How immature. We loudly complained as we left about those people.

Hmm, what else. My grandfather brought me a sample CD of some new musical, that one about dancing, whatever it's called. I bought a new CD for myself and picked out one for my aunt to buy me which my mother took right away and won't give back until my birthday. We saw Bad Santa and that movie is so hilarious. It's a dark comedy, so you have to have slightly warped sense of humour, but oh boy, if you do, you're in for a treat.

Oh Eileen, just a word of warning, you should probably wait until you drive on icy roads before you take your test just 'cause it's coming into that season and if the roads freeze over the day of your test it'd be bad. Though I would sincerely hope not because hey, having a friend that can drive is a very nice thing. hehehe.