"My life may not be something special but it's never been lived before"
Molly, Michael, and Ani
2003-11-23 @ 1:34 p.m.

Yesterday was definatley spectacular. I woke up all la di da and I got ready for momo's bat mitzvah. Not much to say about that. It was really awkward because the only person I knew was Victoria, this girl from NYSTI that I don't really like. The service was nice, though totally different from the ones at my synagogue. The party was really weird. I was planning on staying longer than I did but I was just sitting there by myself watching all these people who were friends hang out. Though Molly's sister's girlfriend is reeeeeeeeeally good looking. God, I need a girlfriend...

So I left there and went home and got all ready for New York and we picked up Michael and drove down. I felt really bad for him because he said it was really awkward with my parents. But oh well. So we went to my uncle's house and dropped our stuff off and picked him up and drove into the city. They dropped Michael and I off and we walked around. We ended up eating at a fairly normal pan-asian restaurant, though the environment was unique. So it wasn't too bad. Then we went off in search of ice cream. We didn't find any, but we did find a Barnes and Noble and he took me to the homosexual literature section and we looked at books there. He kept on saying "oo, you have to read this one" so I just told them to buy them for me for my birthday so hopefully I'll get queer books for my birthday.

So we walked back to the theatre and went in and bought merchandise. I got a super-cool shirt that say "I ain't no damsel in distress" (lyrics from her song not a pretty girl) and has the rbr symbol on the back. Then we went up and found our seats and watched all the people. It was fun. He was very dissapointed at the lack of gay men though. I saw more lesbians though in that one night than I have ever seen in my entire life. It was fun.

The opening act was this really weird guy called That 1 Guy. He played this totally funky instrument that he made up called the magic pipe and at first he played it with a bow and then he was drumming on it. Michael described it as avant gaurde percussion. He sang about drugs a lot. He had this one song, which he called a love song (though he called all of his songs love songs) called The Moon is Disgusting, It's Made of Cheese. It was really funny. So he finished and there was a little break and then....Ani.

She was absolutley amazing. It was a solo performance and Michael, who has seen her three times before, said it was definatley the best he's ever seen. She played an awesome set including one new one and she read a few poems, another one of which was new. At the end, she played an encore which included Shameless and Both Hands which every single person sand along with. Apparently she rarely ever plays Both Hands even though it's one of her most famous ones and also the first one on her first album. She sang pretty much all of her lesbians, though not Two Girls, which I love. But it was still amazing.

The audience was really good too. Everyone was quiet during certain songs and everyone sang along during others and they all cheered at just the right moments so they never covered her up. One time, though, someone started cheering and so another person yelled "shut up" really loud and everyone started cracking up, including Ani. There was a girl in front of us though who must have been drunk because she kept dancing and it pissed me off because she kept covering up Ani. It wasn't too bad though.

Nothing much interesting after that. We went outside and waited for my parents and watched all the people walking by and discussed how much we hate Jesse Kissel who apparently is now playing piano in some gay bar since he came out and all. But we went back to my uncles and went to sleep and woke up and went out to breakfast and then drove back. So that's pretty much it, but my love for ani has now been multiplied by about a million.